Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)

spiderman

So I saw this last night on the big screen (in 2D) as although it says 7/7/2017, my local cinema showed it yesterday (the rebels).

So I’ll explain a little about the story without any spoilers because it’s completely different too the previous two Spider-Man films we’ve seen.  Tom Holland plays Spider-Man himself and after seeing him in the last Captain America film (which was basically an Avengers film…) I was quite looking forward too this movie.

It’s set after the events of Civil War, fifteen year-old Peter Parker is having trouble adjusting back into his ‘normal’ life after being called to assist Iron Man on his last mission.   He’s itching to use his powers to help his fellow Avengers but is constantly being told to keep it all low-key and that he’s just a kid. This obviously makes him want to prove himself all the more so when he sees that a ‘gang’ of criminals are using and selling hi-tech weapons made from the left overs spoils of the Avengers battles he sets out to put an end to it. There’s quite a lot of humor in this film as with all Avengers movies which is great.

The cast is pretty good, Tom Holland plays the iconic superhero really well although I can’t help but think he’s just a little young… Michael Keaton is a fantastic villain as always. Laura Harrier plays LizPeter’s love interest in this movie which surprised me as due to the promotional material and interviews for this film I expected Zendaya to play Parker’s love interest.

With all Marvel movies now you know there’s a massive budget they’re given to play with so all the effects are flawless and even the various Spider-Man suits are probably the best we’ve ever seen. However, I was a little disappointed they all (bar one) came from Tony Stark, there’s just something I liked about Spider-Man making them himself.

Overall it’s a good movie however, I personally think (believe me I’ve though long and hard about this…) I preferred the 2002 Tobey Maguire movie because it was just a lot more true to the comics.  I also have an issue with this Spider-Man not being able to actually shoot web, it’s all made chemically and it just ruins it slightly.  I know a lot of people will rave over this film and I’m not slating it because it’s a well made movie but I think it was made to ‘fill a hole’ rather than because the writers and director actually wanted to make the film.  Marvel need to be careful I mean they didn’t reboot the Hulk movies, more so due to rights but we’d already had two decent films anyway.  I just liked the older, college graduate, photographer Peter Parker than the younger science nerd but I can appreciate both…

Perfect Popcorn Score – I’m giving it an eight, there’s some great laughs and a decent story line but there’s also so much missing… 8/10 

 

 

Leave a Reply

